New York University (NYU) is a private, nonsectarian American research university based in New York City. Founded in 1831, NYU is the largest private nonprofit institution of American higher educationwith its main campus located in Greenwich Village in Lower Manhattan. The University also established NYU Abu Dhabi, NYU Shanghai and maintains 11 other Global Academic Centers in Accra, Berlin, Buenos Aires, Florence, London, Madrid, Paris, Prague, Sydney, Tel Aviv and Washington, D.C. Together, these form NYU's Global Network University. 

NYU was elected to the Association of American Universities in 1950. NYU counts thirty-six Nobel Prize winners, four Abel Prize winners, over ten National Medal of Science recipients, sixteen Pulitzer Prizewinners, over thirty Academy Award winners, Russ Prize, Gordon Prize, Draper Prize and National Medal of Technology and Innovation winners, National Medal of Arts winners, National Humanities Medal winners,Turing Award winners, and Emmy, Grammy, and Tony Award winners among its faculty and alumni. NYU also has MacArthur and Guggenheim Fellowship holders as well as National Academy of Sciences andNational Academy of Engineering members among its past and present graduates and faculty. NYU has the most Oscar winners of any university.

NYU is organized into more than twenty schools, colleges, and institutes, located in six centers throughout Manhattan and Downtown Brooklyn. According to the Institute of International Education, NYU sends more students to study abroad than any other US college or university, and the College Boardreports more online searches by international students for "NYU" than for any other university.

September 25